The worst entertainment news you’ll read all day

No, not that Dan Harmon got fired from Community (though that does really, really suck).  The worst is that Jackie Chan is officially retiring from action cinema.  I’ll have more to say on this later, but right now, I have literal tears in my eyes.  This may sound pathetic and overreactive, but it is what it is.  I don’t blame the man.  If the legendary Jackie Chan says that he’s too old and too beat up to keep fighting for a living, then I believe him.  He ought to know.  For more than four decades, the man has been putting his body on the line for his audience, and nearly lost his life a few times doing it.  He is one of the hardest working performers in the world, and there are few professionals I admire as deeply.  So if he’s moving on to other things, his reasons are good enough for me.  Except they’re not.  Because they’re reminders that Jackie Chan is a mortal, just like the rest of us, and even though he’s not riding off into the sunset just yet, it feels like he’s trading in his spurs for a rocking chair.  He’s darn well earned it, and I look forward to seeing him continue to push himself as an actor, even if it’s on the relative safety of his metaphorical front porch.  I can still feel sad about it, though.  He’s a real-life hero to me, and I hate watching heroes fade away. ☕

About tardishobbit

Reads. Writes. Watches movies. Occasionally stirs from chair. Holds an advanced degree in heuristic indolence. View all posts by tardishobbit

5 responses to “The worst entertainment news you’ll read all day

Leave a Reply

